Home Consular / Visa Foreign Citizens Types of Indonesia's Visa Visit Visa Free Short Visit Visa for Tourists
Free Short Visit Visa for Tourists

In conjunction with the Presidential Decision No. 103/2003, signed by President of the Republic of Indonesia on 17th December 2003 regarding the new visa policy as well as the third amendment of the decision signed on 18 July 2011, has decided that the following countries below do not require a visa to enter Indonesia for a Tourist visit of up to 30 (thirty) days :

  1.  Thailand 
  2.  Malaysia
  3. Singapore
  4. Brunei Darussalam
  5. Philippines
  6. Hongkong Special Administration Region (SAR)
    1. Macao Special Administration Region (SAR)
    2. Chile
    3. Morocco
    4. Peru and
      1. Vietnam
      2. Ecuador
      3. Cambodia
      4. Laos
      5. Myanmar (due to resiprocal principles; the decision of the visa is yet inapplicable)

This facility has the following certainties:

  1. Valid for tourist, social visit, attending convention / seminar / conference, and business.
  2. Valid for a short visit up to one months stay, non-extendable, inconvertible, and not for working.
  3. The extension of stay may be permitted subject to approval from the ministry of justice for the case of Force Majeure, extremely bad weather condition, serious illness or serious accident.

Visitors using this facility must enter and exit from certain airports and seaports in Indonesia, as follows:


Polonia (Medan-North Sumatera),

Simpang Tiga (Pekanbaru-Riau),

Hang Nadim (Batam-Riau),

Tabing (Padang-West Sumatera),

Soekarno-Hatta (Jakarta),

Husein Sastranegara (Bandung-West Java),

Adisumarmo (Solo-East Java),

Juanda (Surabaya-East Java),

Ngurah Rai (Denpasar-Bali),

Selaparang (Mataram-West Nusa Tenggara),

Eltari (Kupang-East Nusa Tenggara),

Supadio (Pontianak-West Kalimantan),

Sepinggan (Balikpapan-East Kalimantan),

Hasanuddin (Ujung Pandang-South Sulawesi),

Sam Ratulangi (Menado-North Sulawesi),

Pattimura (Ambon-Moluccas),

Frans Kasiepo (Biak-Irian Jaya),

Blang Bintang (Banda Aceh, only for citizens from ASEAN countries).


Belawan (Medan),

Batu Ampar & Sekupang (Batam),

Nongsa Terminal Bahari & Teluk Senimba (Batam),

Tanjung Pinang (Riau),

Tanjung Periuk (Jakarta),

Tanjung Mas (Semarang),

Tanjung Perak (Surabaya),

Benoa & Padangbai (Bali),

Bitung (North Sulawesi),

Yos Sudarso (Ambon),

Lhokseumawe & Malahayati (Aceh, only for citizens from ASEAN countries).

Borderline Gate:

Entikong (between West Kalimantan and Serawak, Malaysia).

Please be advised that Visa-Free Short Visits may only be extended upon approval from the Director General of Immigration of the Republic of Indonesia in case of natural disaster, illnes or accident, but cannot be transferred to another type of visa. Overstay visitors incur to pay a penalty of US$20.- per day/person (for under 60 days stay) whilst over 60 days stay will be a 5 (five) year prison sentence or a fine of IDR25.000.000 (local currency).